The last thing anyone wants is to be pulled over by a police officer. It's even worse if you know that you'll be caught driving without insurance. But what will happen if you are caught?
First, it's illegal in all states but Florida to hit the road without motorcycle insurance. Most states have different levels of how much motorcycle insurance you must carry. When you go to purchase a policy, you should automatically receive this required amount. Make sure you double check your state’s motorcycle insurance requirements.
In Kansas and Missouri, bikers must carry at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability per two or more people
- $10,000 in property damage liability
If you're caught without the proper insurance, you could face tickets, fines, court appearances, defensive driving requirements, and even license suspension or arrest. Repercussions are especially severe if you cause an accident while operating an uninsured vehicle. You should make sure that you are listed on the policy if you frequently ride a motorcycle that is not yours. Otherwise, you could be left without coverage and still face consequences.
First time offenses are typically considered misdemeanors. In Kansas, you could pay a fine anywhere between $300 and $1,000 and/or 6 months or less of jail time. A second offense within three years of the first will grant you a suspended license and a fine of anywhere between $800 and $2,500. In Missouri, you could pay a $500 fine and/or 15 days in jail as well as losing driving privileges for a year. If your license is suspended, you will also have to pay a hefty fine to reinstate it. In Missouri, this fine can be around $400. Keep in mind that each situation is different, and certain violations may cause larger fines or longer jail time. Accidents involving DUIs, for example, may result in longer jail time.
Can You Drive A Motorcycle With A Suspended License?
You cannot operate your motorcycle if your license has been suspended. If you have a suspended driver's license, most states will not allow you to operate a motorcycle. You will have to pay a fine to reinstate your license and follow other requirements set by the court or state, such as an SR-22 requirement. Fines and requirements vary per state and situation.
Get A Quote